Legislative Information

POMPAC is a critical tool in the POMA legislative effort. The contributions go a long way toward impacting legislators and legislation affecting the DO community. We need all the resources possible to educate the legislators, commissioners, and officials to DO the right thing.

POMPAC Logo Contribute to POMPAC 


Legislative Links:



POMA Opposes HB 100

A letter from the POMA leadership has been sent to all members of the Pennsylvania House opposing HB 100 which seeks to eliminate the collaborative practice agreement between physicians and certified nurse practitioners. POMA continues its legislative efforts to preserve patient safety and high quality healthcare. Read the full letter.


Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners

Senate Bill 25 would allow certified registered nurse practitioners (CRNPs) to diagnose, treat and prescribe medications without the oversight or co-signature of a doctor of osteopathic medicine (DO) or doctor of allopathic medicine (MD). It would effectively allow CRNPs the same authority and clinical autonomy as a physician, without the necessary education and training.

Full text of the bill can be found at http://bit.ly/2nsnTEt.


Pennsylvania's Medical Marijuana Program

As the implementation of Pennsylvania's Medical Marijuana Program nears, many questions are arising from the physicians in the commonwealth. Dr. Rachel Levine has provided some information to answer many of the common questions. You can read her letter to physicians here. You may also visit www.medicalmarijuana.pa.gov for more information. 

2017-2018 House and Senate Leaders

House Republican Leaders

Speaker: Mike Turzai
Leader: Dave Reed

Appropriations Chair: Stan Saylor
Whip: Bryan Cutler
Caucus Chair: Marcy Toepel
Caucus Administrator: Kurt Masser
Caucus Secretary: Donna Oberlander
Policy Chair: Kerry Benninghoff
House Democratic Leaders

Leader: Frank Dermody
Appropriations Chair: Joe Markosek
Whip: Mike Hanna
Caucus Chair: Dan Frankel
Caucus Administrator: Neal Goodman
Caucus Secretary: Rosita Youngblood
Policy Chair: Mike Sturla
Senate Republican Leaders

President Pro Tempore: Joe Scarnati
Leader: Jake Corman

Appropriations Chair: Patrick Browne
Whip: John Gordner
Caucus Chair: Bob Mensch
Caucus Administrator: Charles McIlhinney
Caucus Secretary: Richard Alloway
Policy Chair: David Argall
Senate Democratic Leaders

Leader: Jay Costa
Appropriations Chair: Vincent Hughes
Whip: Anthony Williams
Caucus Chair: Wayne Fontana
Caucus Administrator: Unfilled
Caucus Secretary: Larry Farnese
Policy Chair: Lisa Boscola


Committees of Jurisdiction
House of Representatives
Committee Chair Minority Chair
Health Kathy Rapp (R) Florindo J. Fabrizio (D)
Human Services Gene DiGirolamo (R) Angel Cruz (D)
Professional Licensure Mark Mustio (R) Harry Readshaw (D)
Insurance Tina Pickett (R)  Anthony DeLuca (D)
Committee Chair Minority Chair
Banking and Insurance Donald C. White (R) Sharif Street (D)
Consumer Protection / 
Prof. Licensure
Robert M. Tomlinson (R) Lisa Boscola (D)
Health and Human Services Lisa Baker (R) Judith L. Schwank (D)